Making my dreams come true

I belive I can fly ♪

Host Family Letter + Vídeo – Parte 2 30/07/2012 11:38 PM

Filed under: Application — Nessa Riani @ 23:38
Tags: ,

Oiiiê! Não, eu não abandonei de novo, só tive as duas semanas mais corridas ever e não deu pra escrever nada. Agora que a rotina voltou ao normal, vou começar a escrever os posts com as últimas novidades.

Enquanto eu estava online, mudei minha carta sei lá quantas vezes. Acho que cada dia sem família no perfil, eu ia lá e mudava uma coisinha, então meu post da letter ficou desatualizado. O vídeo eu também fiz outro, já tinha até falado aqui, mas nunca postei, né? Então, pra não ficar tanto tempo sem post, e como eu sei que isso ajuda bastante quem ainda tá preenchendo o application, vou deixar aqui minha carta e o vídeo.

 

 

Host Family Letter

Dear host family,

Thank you for your interest in me. My name is Vanessa and my friends and family usually call me Nessa. I am 20 years old and live in Rio de Janeiro with my aunt Denise, my cousins, Marina and Joao Vitor and our dog, a french bulldog called Brisa. I was born here but when I was 5 years old my parents and I moved to Sao Joao Nepomuceno, in the state of Minas Gerais in the southeast of Brazil, where I grew up and where my parents live until today. That is a small city and has some beautiful waterfalls and a peaceful neighborhood. I moved back to Rio de Janeiro to start college when I was almost 18 years old and I love this city, It’s the most beautiful city in the world, in my opinion, with so many natural beauty: wonderful beaches, woods, the Sugar Loaf Mountain; also has the Christ the Redeemer statue, high on Corcovado Mountain, where you have a breathtaking view of the whole city and the carnival, when we have amazing Samba School’s Parades. The only problem is the weather, this is a really hot city and like winter, cold.
I am only child and my cousins are like siblings to me. My family is big but almost everybody live in Sao Joao Nepomuceno and it’s about 3 hours by car from Rio de Janeiro. We are all very attached with each other and is great to reunite all of us at my grandparents farm on the weekend and spend the whole day just talking. I visit them a lot, at least once a month, sometimes twice, and talk with my parents on the phone almost every day. Family is everything for me, my basis, who I know I can always count with and all of them are encouraging me a lot to be an Au Pair.
I love to learn new things, specially the ones that can help me in childcare, so I’m learning ASL (American Sign Language) that can help on baby and toddler development. I sing the alphabet with ASL to the baby girl I take care and she just loves it!
I can describe myself as a independent, responsible, honest, calm, lovely, organized, easy going, flexible, creative and fun person. I enjoy music, cook, watch TV, surf on the internet, travel with my parents, go to museums, walk on the park or go to the mall with my cousins, go to the cinema with friends, play games and spend time with family, but the two things I like to do the most are read and spend time with my cousins kids. I read a lot, am always reading something, this year I’ve already read 10 books and my cousins children are my passions, I become a child again when I’m with them, we swim, ride a bike, draw, play costume and soccer together. Once, they traveled with me, without their parents, and I took them to a museum, beach, amusement park and movie theater. Were wonderful days. I love to be with them.
Regarding my experience, I started babysit Sara when she was almost 8 months old, now she is 6 years old, will be 7 in April. Her mother is my friend’s sister and I was always there, visiting the girl, so she said she needed some help and asked me if I wanted to start to babysit her. When Sara was almost 2, Pedro, her brother, was born and I started to help with him too. Right after Pedro turned one, their mother started to work again and I became fully responsible for them on afternoons. I worked for her since December/2010 and just stopped because they moved to another city, but I sometimes I go there visit them and they come to visit me. I had to change diapers, bath them, put on a nap, read stories, take to ride a bike, play costumes, arts and crafts, take to the park, do picnic, etc. In August/2008 I started a volunteer work at a daycare for children in need. There I worked with children from 18 months until 3 years and worked for a year and a half. There I stimulated their motor control, psychomotor education (music, games, basic hygiene and nutrition) and socialization.
Were two amazing experiences and I learned a lot in both. I love to be with kids because they are so transparent. Their happiness and innocence make me happier and I appreciate how they love truly. I love to make the difference in a child life!
Nowadays I work as a babysitter for a few families. One family has a baby girl called Arden Flora who has just moved to Rio de Janeiro. She is 14 months old and I started to take care of her on september. I play, take to a walk, to the park, beach, give her a snack, bath her and put on a nap. Sometimes I babysit her at night so I give her dinner, prepare and give bottle, read some stories and put on bed too. The other one has Emilia, an american girl who is 1 year old and I just started to take care of her. I play with her, take to the park, to the beach and put on a nap. Also babysit Isabel, a 3 years old american girl and I give her lunch, snack, take to the park, to the beach, pool. It’s a great opportunity to know a little about the american culture and practice my english.
I want to be an Au Pair because I think that an exchange is a huge experience and personal growth, once you’ll know yourself better and face different challenges, and I completely love the american culture since I started to study english, when I was 8. Also, I want to improve my english. This program is perfect for me because is an amazing opportunity to live with an american family, know their culture better and work with I like: take care of children.
I hope my profile fits in your needs!
With love,
Vanessa

 

 

Vídeo

 

 

É isso. Até o fim de semana eu atualizo com as news.

Beijos